Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Concerns... Need Advice

Old 08-12-2014, 06:31 AM
Spike

Default Concerns... Need Advice

I'm fairly new to hunting and need some serious advice. I ran into an old friend who lives on 22 acres in a rural community. Her property is surrounded on 3 sides by roughly 1200 acres of hayfield and dense stands of trees owned by one person but divided amongst family members. The nearest house is almost 500 yards from her property line with a couple stands of trees separating hayfields. At issue is the fact that with the exception of the nearest house, her land is the highest elevation on 3 sides and any rifle shot not stopped by a tree would travel for a good distance. There is an over abundance of deer in the area (the neighbor doesn't allow any hunting on his 1200 acres) and she'd like to thin out the herd so to speak. She's seeing deer daily and in groups ranging from 2-3 to as many as 18 at one time, usually munching on her garden. She said that they are not even spooked when she walks into the yard to scare them off, they just look back as if to say "what do you want".

Average clear shooting distances on her property is around 150 yards with an additional 50 yards of trees before the property line. My go to rifle is a 7x57 but I have a 30-30 or 45-70 I could use. To be honest the place would be great to bow hunt on but I've never tried bowhunting and it's a little too late to start for this year. Would the height of a ladder stand help with the backstop issue? If it were you, would you hunt with a rifle here? Every place I've hunted in the past has had good backstop areas.

Thanks for the advice in advance!
Old 08-12-2014, 06:40 AM
Giant Nontypical