Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Food plots

Old 01-12-2014, 04:52 PM
Spike

Default Food plots

I'm new to the hunting seen been at it for 3 years in western PA. It's getting expensive and want to put in a nice food plot that will feed for most of the year... I've been researching and I think the best choice will be the forage soybeans from eagle seed? I have 220 acres to work with but want to stick to power and the water line right of ways to do food plots cause fields r used for hay. I've got access for tractors to get in there...

Are soybeans right choice? How much will I have to plant to sustain my deer heard threw the winter? Will I still have to supplemental feed? Will it actually bring in and grow bigger bucks? Bottom line is it worth it?
Old 01-13-2014, 09:12 PM
Spike

I'm new to the whole food plot thing as well... Tried some throw and grow garbage a few years ago with Zero results. Do you have soybeans fields in your area? If so, I'd think it wouldn't draw them in much since it would be readily available elsewhere in mass quantities, but I may be wrong.
Old 01-14-2014, 04:09 PM
Spike

Default Thanks

I wasn't sure what the hell to do. I just didn't want to spend a fortune with feeding them all winter
Old 01-14-2014, 04:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

I suggest trying a few different types of food plots,there are perennials (plants that will continue growing and last for several years) and the others that are Seasonal and usually on last thru 1 growing period!

Plants I would suggest to plant if You want something that will last for several years and the Wildlife will be able to use almost all year long to some extent!
Clover (Ladino,White,Red...etc)
Alfalfa
Rye Grass