Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New to this

Old 09-17-2013, 06:49 PM
Spike

Default New to this

I'm new to deer hunting. This will be my first year. I am an adult so I will be able to shoot anything. My question- I'm in the market for a rifle and not sure what to purchase. I know that different people like different things but I need a good all around rifle. I have a few places to go that includes hills, valleys,fields and large pastures. I'm a city boy so I need help.
Old 09-17-2013, 07:11 PM
Typical Buck

What's your budget? Strictly a deer gun? I'm sure you'll get more opinions than you will know what to do with in no time, lol.
Old 09-17-2013, 08:54 PM
Nontypical Buck

30-06

opinion
Old 09-18-2013, 02:27 AM
Spike

Right now it will be just a deer rifle. I don't want to drop a lot of money on something I do not know if I will enjoy. I also know rifles are not cheap. I will say no more than $600.
Old 09-18-2013, 04:56 AM
Nontypical Buck

$600 including optics or rifle alone?

If you went with something that has iron sights, you wouldn't have to spend any money on a scope, but then your shots are limited more by your ability and your effective range will be significantly less than if you had a scope, assuming you're not an experienced marksman.
Old 09-18-2013, 05:13 AM
Typical Buck

If you have the option go to a couple differant gun shops and tell them what your looking for and you price range. You should be able to stay well within your range even with a decent scope. Smaller shops should have your best information as opposed to larger chain stores that happen to sell guns (For the most part)
Old 09-18-2013, 09:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

Ditto 30.06 Spr. Very good all around 30 cal. cartridge for hunting. Every maker of center fire hunting ammo that I know of offers several options for the 30.06 Spr.