Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Patterning Bachelor Group Bucks >

Patterning Bachelor Group Bucks

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Patterning Bachelor Group Bucks

Old 07-20-2013, 02:55 PM
Spike

Default Patterning Bachelor Group Bucks

I am fairly new to deer hunting and currently hunt 40 acres around my house in Delaware that is about 80% in corn this year with around 5 acres of dedicated woods including a hedgerow corridor that connects out section of woods to a neighbors property. Around me is another 40 acres of woodlands I have access to and these properties are sandwiched on the north and south by two tracts of state wildlife area.

After getting hooked last year with seeing large groups of does and taking two decent young bucks in our November shotgun season, I have begun managing for deer this year by maintaining two clover plots that double for hay and recently was given a trail camera to try out. After two weeks in the field I was extremely surprised to see photos of the eight point shown in the picture (attached) every three days at around 7 in the morning and the only large ten point that I saw for the first time today.

I was hoping for advice on how to use this single camera to get more information on patterning these bucks and how to possibly change my strategy once the velvet stops dropping and the bachelor groups breaks up. In Delaware these two are monsters and my dad who has hunted the area for years says these are two of the nicest bucks he has ever seen. Any help on getting these deer patterned would be greatly appreciated, hopefully I have have my blinds and stands up within the next couple of weeks for the start of my first archery season in September.
Attached Thumbnails Patterning Bachelor Group Bucks-prms0051.jpg  
Old 07-20-2013, 04:20 PM
Spike