Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
What is your favorite rut set up in a tree? >

What is your favorite rut set up in a tree?

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What is your favorite rut set up in a tree?

Old 06-12-2013, 09:16 PM
Spike

Default What is your favorite rut set up in a tree?

Where do you like to hang regarding deer in and around the rut? Food edge, between bed and food, up against bedding? Just wondering where the most success has been seen.
Old 06-12-2013, 10:17 PM
Nontypical Buck

Im still learning myself...Ive had good success close to trails. They are habitual creatures. sometimes they blaze their own trail but Ive made a trail through leaves and they follow it! Mainly I think is because its quieter traveling...Ive killed a few this way...and my wife shot her first 2 on the same trail I blazed for them.
Old 06-12-2013, 10:34 PM
Spike

In between doe feeding and bedding areas. Hunt the does in the rut and you will find the bucks.
Old 06-13-2013, 04:35 AM
Boone & Crockett

I have found a perfect spot. Bordered on the south by a highway and the north by a deep fast flowing creek. This strip is about 200 yds wide and has an old RR bed running east and west. Prevailing wind is usually blowing in a northernly direction. During the prerut and rut the buck use this RR bed as a travel corridor. They can cover a lot of ground and can pick up the scent of a hot doe in the crosswind. I set up my treestand about 15' high, 20 yds off this RR bed. I've killed 7 buck in 8 years there. Last year I was holding out for a huge 180 class buck but he never showed. And in all these years I've never seen another hunter in this little honey hole.
Old 06-13-2013, 05:51 PM
Nontypical Buck