Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New here, want to hunt

Old 10-12-2012, 10:57 AM
Spike

Default New here, want to hunt

Hello everybody. This is my first thread/post.

In a few days, I'm going to take my state's mandatory hunting education course, which will then enable me to have a hunting license. The course will involve firearms safety and it will also include shooting w/ a shotgun.

I have no hunting experience. I do not come from a family of outdoorsmen. And I accept the fact that getting even one deer this season may be a big accomplishment. Still, I am intrigued by hunting, want to learn what I consider a traditional manly skill, and frankly, want to eat venison.

So here are my questions.
1. Other than, say, cameo clothing, a shotgun, a knife for dressing, what other equipment will I absolutely need? I speculate I may have to buy one of those bright orange vests so that other hunters may see me.
2. I'm thinking of buying a portable heater (that uses propane; I assume that even with proper clothing, it'll be nice to have a heater as I will be outside in colder weather). Yay or nay for bringing heaters while hunting?
3. How difficult is it to dress a deer?
4. The average deer you guys have hunted - if counting only meals for one average-sized male adult, how much meat does each hunted animal yield (how many meals)?
Old 10-12-2012, 11:09 AM
Typical Buck

1. Only necessity is a weapon and a way to dress the animal. I have camo for bow season but once it gets cold out I usually just wear my brown carharts with no trouble. You may also want to invest in a treestand.
2. Why on earth would you take a heater to the woods with you. If you dont like the cold you shouldn't be deer hunting IMO
3. Field dressing a deer is very simple, there are many how to videos out there to help you out.