Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Thoughts on deer scents/lures

Old 05-29-2012, 01:26 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default Thoughts on deer scents/lures

Guys - if you don't mind i would like to know what your favorite deer scent/lure/attractant - whatever you want to call it is and why.
I've been hunting for over 45 years now and I have tried several different brands and types. And so far, I've narrowed it down to two specific lures. One is Tink's Buck Urine. I use this scent starting about the second week in November when the buck are actively cruising the woods. IMO they don't like other guys invading their territory and come to investigate. But my all time favorite scent/attractant has to be Tink's (again) Trail's End 307. I've had bucks come off tailing does to investigate this scent and I've seen bucks follow the scent from my drag rag. I've also seen them come across the scent trail from the drag rag and just stand there sniffing and curling their lip as if mesmerized by the scent. This scent I use all season long.
Old 05-29-2012, 02:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

I do not use commercial deer scents as an attractant or as a cover scent. I have tried a few along the way. Code Blue, Tink's, Harman's, etc. as attractants. Coon Pee, Fox Pee, even Skunk scent as cover. However during these past 50+/- years hunting white tail deer I cannot for the life of me recommend any of this stuff.

I will say that I have had a few deer definitely show interest in the scent "bombs" I have made. Most simply ingnore them ... and a few even spook. They simply are not worth the $$$ in my opinion. And I think that a ton of folks look at these as a "sure thing", based upon a handful of ad photos.