Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Maine fights a decline in hunters - help! >

Maine fights a decline in hunters - help!

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Maine fights a decline in hunters - help!

Old 10-28-2011, 08:46 AM
Spike

Default Maine fights a decline in hunters - help!

I’m a resident Maine hunter (opening day for whitetail tomorrow, good luck!), trying to help out my state. Recently Maine assembled a task force to address an issue of a declining number of non-resident hunters. They’re looking for ways to combat the trend. I’ve contributed ideas, but I have a limited perspective. Does anyone have ideas? Has anyone hunted in Maine before? What obstacles were there? How about combating the national trend of declining hunters?

I’ve written a blog post that summarizes what the task force is and what they are up against http://www.youhuntandfish.com/blogs, and here is a link the material the task force has http://www.maine.gov/ifw/news_events...rTaskForce.htm
Old 10-28-2011, 09:02 AM
Typical Buck

declining hunters is problem just about everywhere,
i dont think the solution is recruiting out of state hunters,
financial benefit to your state yes, but not the solution to declining hunters,
but thats just states fighting over dwindling hunters $$$.
only solution to that is recruiting new hunters, young and old,
as more people move around cities less opportunities to hunt,
to recruit the young, parents have to expose their kids to the outdoors, and hopefully their kids will recruit friends,
for older hunters, have to educate them on benefits of hunting,