Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Interested in Hunting

Old 08-31-2011, 01:34 AM
Spike

Default Interested in Hunting

Hey everyone i'm new here, but I guess more or less i'm looking for advice. I'm 19 years old. I've never hunted in my life,its something that i've ALWAYS wanted too. Granted I was never raised too hunt, Only shot a 30-06 twice (apparently i'm a damn good shot, from what my friends told me). and I kind of have a guilty continence about killing a deer :/. No body in my family hunts, and I'm more or less the black sheep of my family(I hate the city, loves the outdoors etc...) Do I feel this way cause I've never done it before? is it something you become immune too over time? Should I start small? Am I too old too get into it? Any tips, advice, good ways too get started, would be greatly appreciated.

-TJ
Old 08-31-2011, 03:59 AM
Typical Buck

1st you are never to old to get into hunting! and you may feel bad about it because you have never done it. A lot of us hunters do not feel bad about it because we do not let the game go to waste. We all respect the animals we harvest.

You could start watching hunting shows but a lot of them are just made for tv. I got a pack of dvds called Drury Outdoors Dream Season 3 and thats some of the more realistic bow/rifle hunting shows i have seen.

Your 19 so if your not gun shy i wouldn't start out on a small caliber unless you want to. Great deer calibers are .270, .30-06, ,308, .30-.30. If you are gun shy and want a gun with knock down power go with a 30-30.

You will learn a lot about hunting if you just start cruisin this forum.
Old 08-31-2011, 04:22 AM
Spike