Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

After the kill timeline

Old 01-02-2011, 03:38 PM
Spike

Default After the kill timeline

hey guys this is my first post here, and am looking for a little information. What is your process after you kill a deer? I would imagine that first thing is field dressing. I know temperature plays a role in the amount of time you have, but how soon do you field dress (or more importantly, how late is too late), and what steps do you take after that to get the deer from the woods to the freezer? Is it as simple as field dressing, skinning, and butchering as soon as you can or is there more depth to it? I am new to hunting, and plan on processing my own deer. Temps during hunting season in my area range from the 70's to the low 20's. Thanks for any info you can provide.
Old 01-02-2011, 04:25 PM
Fork Horn

Well your answers here will subjective opinion of course and this certainly fits that description. The first thing to be aware of always is that as soon as your deer hits the ground it is no longer a deer, it is meat and must be handled as such from the start. The naturally occurring bacteria present in the critter will go to work on it as soon as the heart stops. This starts the natural process of decay that all animals go through. (I know it sounds gross, but that what is happening)