Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Woods vs edges

Old 12-27-2010, 06:33 PM
Spike

Default Woods vs edges

Thanks in advance for any replies as I am a newbie. I am somewhat a hunting beginner but I ived around and hunted around edges about 20 years ago. By edges, I mean the edges of corn or hay fields. The only deer I ever shot was in a hay field.

My question is this: I have a chance to buy some northern Wisconsin land cheap but it is heavily forested with a few trails cutout. It is in deep woods with no corn nearby. I have never had much luck hunting in the deep woods. I plan to walk the land in a few weeks to check for sign and tracks. In the meantime though, do you guys like hunting deer in woods?
Old 12-27-2010, 06:42 PM
Giant Nontypical

Both, it really depends upon the food supply, time of year etc...

Also...There are also edges or changes in cover in the woods, these are also good places to hunt...
Old 12-27-2010, 07:47 PM
Typical Buck

I have spent most of my time hunting edges. Mainly because I have never had access to huge farms to hunt with huge woods. I am planning to hunt more woods as I am hunting new land the last couple years. I like being able to see across huge fields because I feel you have a better chance of at least seeing deer. But on the flip side you have to stop and think on a day to day basis how many fields you drive by in your life and never see deer in them. Mostly during daylight hours the deer are in the woods and bedding areas.
Old 12-27-2010, 08:59 PM
Fork Horn