Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Feeding deer corn?

Old 12-19-2010, 11:43 AM
Fork Horn

Default Feeding deer corn?

I have a friend that hunts in Northern Wisconsin and with all the snow they have had, he asked me if he thought it was a good idea to start feeding them corn. I told him I wouldn't put a huge amount out, but maybe like an ice cream pail or 2 full out a week until the snow melts. Is that a bad idea or what does everyone think?
Old 12-19-2010, 12:02 PM
Spike

Here is a couple links I found on this. Not sure if I agree with them, but I'm no expert. I only put out corn for bait in the late season.

http://www.farmanddairy.com/columns/...-do/14293.html

http://www.farmanddairy.com/columns/...nce/14324.html

http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/10353/1111563-358.stm

Last edited by marshyhope; 12-19-2010 at 12:09 PM.
Old 12-19-2010, 02:55 PM
Fork Horn

I don't know what it is like where you live but here in NH we have a set time we can use feed or bait, from Sept 1 to Dec 31. Reason being is the deer become too dependent on the feed and become too concentrated in one area. We also need to have written landowners permission along with a permit issued by the F&G dept. To me it makes perfect sense because when they do become dependant, they stop utilizing their own natural food source and they don't end up getting all the vitamins and minerals they require for a healthy diet which makes it tougher on them during the winter months. That's how it was explained to me by a CO I spoke with this year.

You should check with the F&G to find out what, if any, are the laws just to be on the safe side. I would think if the snow is really deep they would make exceptions to the rules if there are any.

Good luck
Old 12-19-2010, 03:57 PM
Typical Buck