Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

need advice on stand location

Old 12-02-2010, 01:52 AM
Spike

Default need advice on stand location

Im still new to hunting and would like some opinions on late deer hunting this property. I know that the later the season get the more u should hunt food areas but there really is no food areas just bedding. I have hunted the area as much as I can "got a late start" and have gotten one deer so far. I have outlined the property in blue and the yellow is where I have been putting up my stand. The property is all fenced in except for the far back corner next to the field. Any help would be appreciated.

if u would like a picture closer I will post just let me know
Old 12-02-2010, 08:08 AM
Fork Horn

I'd go a little deeper where the 2 fiels have the woods inbetween
Old 12-02-2010, 08:30 AM
Typical Buck

Can't really see where the thick stuff/potential bedding areas are. Just by looking at the overhead view, I would try to get a little deeper and a little closer to those two inside corners. Looks like a good transition area. Are there any areas where two to three significant terrain features come together? Which direction does the prevailing wind blow? Wind is a significant factor in determining the approach to a stand. I'm sure you know that though. Can you get in through the property from different directions?? It's always good to change things up. I'd have at least three to four stands in that parcel, spread out, of course.
Old 12-02-2010, 09:25 AM
Fork Horn

definitely get to that narrow spot that will funnel all the deer between the fields/forests
Old 12-02-2010, 10:30 AM
Spike