Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Where would you go?

Old 09-27-2010, 11:33 AM
Spike

Default Where would you go?

Hey, i'm new to huntingnet.com ive read alot of the posts over the past few months and with bow season starting i was wondering if any of you were hunting on the property where hunt, where would you go. any help would be nice. i just would like some new perspectives on this property.
Attached Thumbnails Where would you go?-hunting-north-ps.jpg   Where would you go?-close-up-north-ps.jpg   Where would you go?-south-side-ps.jpg  

Last edited by rg87; 09-27-2010 at 11:49 AM.
Old 09-28-2010, 07:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

I would look at the corners of the field to the north and Southwest, they both look to me like they would be likely travel routes between fields. During the rut I would keep an eye on the fencelines also. If you had a topo map that would definitely be some help too so we could tell the lay of the land. Acme mapper does a nice job showing topography.
Old 09-28-2010, 08:02 AM
Typical Buck

Well first off you can try to scout the area for deer trails,bedding areas,feeding sources, but don't just look at the property that you hunt. Look at it in wide perspective since deer will travel to their most preferred food source,be it acorns,apples,corn etc. and dont overlook water sources. If possible, you could glass the fields(morning,evening) to see where they're traveling to and from, just stay back a ways so you dont spook them. Good Hunting!!!
Old 09-28-2010, 08:58 AM
Typical Buck