Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
New hunter has question about hunting spots on public land >

New hunter has question about hunting spots on public land

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New hunter has question about hunting spots on public land

Old 09-25-2010, 08:53 AM
Spike

Default New hunter has question about hunting spots on public land

This is my first year hunting, I haven't even shot at a deer yet. I hunt on public land and didn't get an opportunity (not because I was lazy) to do any good scouting.

So today I was sitting in a spot that I "scouted" with google maps from work...saw nothing but it's next to some oak trees spilling acorns so I won't write it off just yet.

I decide to get down and look around a little and follow a trail with lots of droppings that dumped out into what looked like a food source. Bingo, I punched it into the GPS and decide to try and come back another day. I look up for a good tree and there's another hunter staring at me...I hope I didn't ruin his hunt. I wave and he waves back (stifling curses I'm sure) then I get out of the area as quick and quiet as I can.

Seeing as I have the coordinates now, I can easily go back to the spot. I thought it was a good spot and the presence of another at least lets me know that I'm not the only one. So is that spot fair game? Technically of course it is because it's public land but what's the right thing to do?

Thanks for reading my long post.
Old 09-25-2010, 09:13 AM
Typical Buck