Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Forming a Plan of Attack: Partners in Crime!! >

Forming a Plan of Attack: Partners in Crime!!

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Forming a Plan of Attack: Partners in Crime!!

Old 09-22-2010, 07:19 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Forming a Plan of Attack: Partners in Crime!!

Below is the satellite image of a farm I will be able to hunt this season, once per week for sure, but hopefully twice. Being that this will be my 3rd season, I am the first to admit that I am a NOVICE whitetail hunter. If you have any suggestions to help formulate a plan of attack, please do! I spent a little time out there this past Sunday, but have a lot more scouting to do, so this post will only deal with what I know so far.

FYI, muzzleloader season starts 10/30 and full firearms season picks up 11/13 - 1/1. When would you STOP pre-season scouting so as not to deter the deer from their normal routines?

The blue line is the approximate boundary of the farm. Note that I have only scouted the WESTERN side of the farm so far, and not to the greatest extent.

The "men's room" icons shows nearby dwellings, which need to be considered as far as hunting direction goes.

The flaming teepee icons are where I SUSPECT deer may be bedding. I don't have visual confirmation, but they appear to be pine groves from the satellite (note that they are beyond the property lines). Most of the trees on the property are hardwoods.

The green icons are where I have located acorns in good supply, SO FAR. I need to walk the property more thoroughly when I have time.