Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
What time of the year do deer like corn best? >

What time of the year do deer like corn best?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What time of the year do deer like corn best?

Old 08-24-2010, 02:33 PM
Fork Horn

Default What time of the year do deer like corn best?

I have some of the original deer cane poured out in front of my trail camera that deer have started to dig it up, so that works well for me. The problem i have is that i put some corn on top of the deer cane and the deer have completely ignored it, and just go for the deer cane. Is it that they like the deer cane better or that they have other things to eat since it's summer or what? I haven't fed them very much corn in the past, and since i'm not an expert at feeding deer what do you guys think?
Old 08-24-2010, 03:21 PM
Typical Buck

deer will eat the corn anytime of year. why they aren't eating it now could be a number of things. one is what you just mentioned- other food sources - that's most likely the main reason other than this but i could be wrong. in my experiences using deer cain or any other attractants that you pour on the ground or tree stumps/ logs(don't pour it on rotting wood though)you are better off using that by itself and the corn in a dif. pile or spread out, just not on the deer cain or whatever you happen to be using. i've had that happen to me everytime i tried mixing the two or using apples,pears, and dif. nuts. all i can figure out is that they don't like that stuffed mixed and i had better success keeping everything separate.
Old 08-24-2010, 04:18 PM
Spike

Well if im correct...Deer need minerals about right now...and during the summer..soo that could be a reason..
Old 08-25-2010, 07:55 AM
Fork Horn