Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What can i do

Old 11-02-2009, 09:14 PM
Spike

Default What can i do

i want badly to hunt but the place i got has no deer lol. the wma near where i live is very dangerous, several hunter get shot at a year so im afraid of that. i cant find a lease to join thats affordable being that im a college student and my money is very tight.and my old man is getting out of hunting so i cant bum hunts off of him. any advice is appreciated
Old 11-03-2009, 01:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

A "college student" huh? Do they teach English / grammar / sentence structure there? That paragraph is rather difficult to read.
Old 11-03-2009, 07:45 AM
Dominant Buck

A quick check of the QDMA Deer Density Map reveals that there are extremely few parts of Louisiana that have fewer than 15-30 deer per square mile, sounds like you need to leave the campus a bit more.

In your situation and location hunting public land is probably your only option. Wear lots of blaze orange, and find the places where the other hunters don't go. If one of your buds has access to a boat you could try hunting isolated islands and estuaries of larger lakes or rivers, most hunters aren't motivated enough to do that. Swamps are probably another option considering your location, invest in some hip waders, and be sure to bring a friend for safety. I have yet to meet a farmer who likes deer, canvass the local farms to see if nuisance deer control is an option.
Old 11-03-2009, 07:58 AM
Spike

Originally Posted by bugsNbows
A "college student" huh? Do they teach English / grammar / sentence structure there? That paragraph is rather difficult to read.