Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What am I doing wrong

Old 10-19-2009, 09:24 AM
Spike

Default What am I doing wrong

Recently I started learning about calling and rattling. I hunt in south eastern Michigan, and was in the field on the first weekend in oct. About 20 mins after shooting light saw a bachelor group doing a little sparing so I took out my primos rattle bag and did as small sequence. The group was about 150yrds away and after hearing me slowly walked to within 100yrds but then stopped, I waited for about 15min, then they all turned and started to head the way they were originally going I tried to rattle again, and they all flagged their saddening white flags and trotted off. Not sure what I did wrong need help. The second scenario was also that weekend which was the first bow weekend, I was able to call in with a fawn distress bleat 4 different doe and one 4pt. The doe rushed in hard, and the 4pt only cautiously changed his direction and traveled right under my stand. Here's the problem, this past weekend ( the 3rd bow weekend) I tried both rattling and calling and nothing seemed to work. Is there someone that can help me with this. Remember I am a beginner at these techniques and I fully understand that they won't work every time but it was very disheartening to see them not work at all this past weekend.
Old 10-19-2009, 09:49 AM
Fork Horn

on the first question...they simply didnt see what they wanted to see..so they took off..they are a little smarter than one might think.
Old 10-19-2009, 09:56 AM
Spike

first: just when you think a whitetail will do something...he'll do something different

second: some deer just have that sixth sense and can just get that feeling that something aint just right.

third: That's why we love to hunt 'em.

sounds like the rattling worked on the bachelor group