HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   College student deer hunter (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/305408-college-student-deer-hunter.html)

GVoverstreet7 09-30-2009 09:12 AM

College student deer hunter

I'm a full time college student and my usual/favorite place to hunt where all my deer management and trophy bucks are. It's about an hour and a hlaf home. I was wondering what some people would do in my situation?

bryant1 09-30-2009 09:37 AM

I was in your situation in college and drove home every weekend of the season. I went as far as to schedule a short day on Friday so i could drive an hour home and hunt Friday afternoon, Sat., and Sunday. Then pack up Sunday night and head back. My grades would suffer a little during the fall semester, but so would the bucks :s4:

bowfly 09-30-2009 12:51 PM

having just graduated college two years ago, i was in a similar situation. where i connected was at the local archery shops, fishing holes, volunteer activites for hunter education, hell, even many professors. simply putting it out there "hey, i love the outdoors" opened a lot of doors locally to penn state university park, i am still friends with many of these folks, and have harvested quite a few deer from sight distance of beaver stadium.

though, i am a softy and always love hunting back home where i shot my first deer, first buck, and turkey out of the same woods...my advice, secure opportunities throughout the week near the college and as bryant said, try to schedule time to get home when possible...if not, no worries, take your bow or gun for a walk in the woods after classes

brushbuster07 10-01-2009 04:40 PM