Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Anyone ever freeze apples to use later in the fall / winter? >

Anyone ever freeze apples to use later in the fall / winter?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Anyone ever freeze apples to use later in the fall / winter?

Old 08-26-2009, 04:42 PM
Spike

Default Anyone ever freeze apples to use later in the fall / winter?

I've been putting piles of apples (and pears) out for a few years and the deer just TEAR them up. I mean, I'll go from 10 pics a week to 80 pics once I put apples out. This year, I plugged in my old freezer in the garage and am filling with plastic grocery sacks of apples. This is my first time trying this.. anyone else ever do it?

For those of your that can't hunt over bait, forgive me!

Thanks, Jeff in Ohio
Old 08-26-2009, 04:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have. Unfortunately they turned brown. Didn't freeze well.
Old 08-26-2009, 04:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

Never done it but it sounds like a good idea.
Old 08-26-2009, 05:19 PM
Typical Buck

No sense practicing something that will result in a fine in Indiana,
Old 08-26-2009, 05:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Tried it. They turn to mush when they thaw.
Old 08-26-2009, 06:08 PM
Spike

I can hunt over bait in Oklahoma but for some reason the deer on my place hate apples. I have tried everything from apple flavored corn to apple mineral licks and even real apples. They will tear up anything but so I dont know what is wrong with them. But then again it is very rare to see a wild apple tree around here.
Old 08-26-2009, 06:13 PM
Ava
Fork Horn

Most whole fruit when frozen turns to mush when thawed.

I guess it'd be okay if they like mushy apples.
Old 08-26-2009, 06:29 PM
Boone & Crockett