Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

do you cut up you own deer?

Old 04-01-2009, 07:46 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: do you cut up you own deer?

I've been processing my own for over 40 years. That way I ensure I get what I want and it also seems to be appropriate... ya know from field to table all by me.
Old 04-03-2009, 02:49 PM
Fork Horn

For the past ten years, I have processed all of my own deer. More recently however, my processing has improved greatly due to a video...

"How to butcher deer"...available from the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife (google KY Fish and Wildlife) for a modest amount. It features a professional butcher explaining the process to Tim Farmer, host of Kentucky Afield, a PBS show, the oldest sporting show still produced...been on the air since the 1950s.
Old 04-04-2009, 06:19 PM
Fork Horn