Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Problem with nocturnal deer

Old 01-17-2009, 03:32 PM

Default Problem with nocturnal deer

This is my first year deer hunting. I got a bow for christmas and we built a tree stand in my backyard. The problem is, I never see the deer during the day. I know there are plenty of deer back there because I feed them corn and I have to throw out another 50lb bag every few days. Also, every time I come home at about 11pm I flash my headlights back there and theres always a pack of deer hanging out.

I have yet to try hunting in the morning, but I never see them in the morning anyways. What should I do to get one of these deer out during the day?
Old 01-17-2009, 03:49 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Problem with nocturnal deer

ORIGINAL: ozfest5

This is my first year deer hunting. I got a bow for christmas and we built a tree stand in my backyard. The problem is, I never see the deer during the day. I know there are plenty of deer back there because I feed them corn and I have to throw out another 50lb bag every few days. Also, every time I come home at about 11pm I flash my headlights back there and theres always a pack of deer hanging out.

I have yet to try hunting in the morning, but I never see them in the morning anyways. What should I do to get one of these deer out during the day?
Hunt during the rut!
Old 01-17-2009, 03:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Get away from the bait. Instead of you finding outtheir patterns, they're finding yours.
Old 01-17-2009, 04:02 PM
Spike

Hunting during the rut doesn't work if your season doesn't overlap.