Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Begginner and frustrated

Old 11-21-2008, 01:39 PM

Default Begginner and frustrated

Hey, ya'all. I'm patrioticfarmchick. This will be my first post on your alls fourum. I really like it and have already learned a bit. Well, I just went deer huntin' for the first time three weeks ago. I have had been wanting to go since I was nine. I'm a freshman now. A guy friend took me, but at the time it was took hot and we didn't even see any.

I have land. I know how to safely use a gun. There was no reason for me not to go hunting on my own land. So, I went to Bass Pro, bought myself a blind, unsent detergent and hunter orange and on the way home got a hunting lisense and tag. Been out a few times and haven't seen anything.

Here is a newbie questionfor ya: Is is normal tonot even see a deer?
Old 11-21-2008, 01:42 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Begginner and frustrated

Probably depends where you are at and what you mean by being out. When I was growing up in southern Illinois there were not a lot of deer and one could easily spend the whole day in the stand and not see a deer. Now it is pretty rare to go an entire day without seeing a single deer there. However, if you are just going out for a little while, then you may not see deer even if there are lots of them.
Old 11-21-2008, 01:43 PM
Fork Horn

absolutely, i sometimes go without seeing anything. The key is to scout your area, look for good deer sign. Bedding areas, thickets, food sources. persistence is key
Old 11-21-2008, 01:45 PM
Fork Horn

Depends on where you hunt. Where I hunt, no, that is not normal, I always see deer. But, out here, I can see for miles at a time. Where you hunt, it might be an entirely different story. Don't give up yet. When you get that first one in range, you will know why we all do this.
Old 11-21-2008, 01:49 PM
Nontypical Buck