Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What to do with a rub?

Old 11-08-2008, 01:43 PM

Default What to do with a rub?

I'm new to hunting (well I've been trying for a few years but haven't had any luck yet). I found what I think is a buck rub near some tracks. While I was hanging out on the same ridge I found the rub, a doe approached me. This is the first time I've seen a deer where I feel like I could have made the shot (50 yds, didn't know I was there). The doe finally spotted me and bolted.

Do you think it will come back next week when the season starts? If it does come back, should I take what I can get or wait to see if a buck comes by?

Old 11-08-2008, 01:53 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: What to do with a rub?

Try and get a stand in the area, the buck that made it WILL be back, if you don't spooke it. Don't touch the tree or anything around it, try and stay away from it. other deer will check it out also. Try and find a tree down from prevailing wind, and don't shoot any does till end of season. You can get some buck pee in a squirt bottle and hit the ground infront of the tree, and scramble into your stand and be ready for a mad buck to come in Good luck
Old 11-08-2008, 02:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Tigerhunter: Kneel down at the rub, placing your eyes about same heiight as deer's head. Look directly upwind to the furthest point you can see at that level, yet still be able to see the rub. Go to that spot and pick a point crosswind that you can get a shot into that spot. Often, with BIG rubs, the rubs are placed in locations that the buck NEED the does to be, such as a wind transition area. They will view the rub from upwind location, and move in when they see does near the rub acting normally.

You might just intercept the buck at that upwind location.
Old 11-08-2008, 02:51 PM
Nontypical Buck