Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Hunting Knife suggestions..

Old 10-15-2008, 01:23 PM
Typical Buck

Default Hunting Knife suggestions..

I am kind of new to field dressing but I am looking for a good hunting knife for just that task. I have used cheap knives in the past and have lostfew along the way. What i am looking for;

1. Under $60
2. has to have a leather or nylon sheath (lost too many to belt clips)
3. comes out of the package sharp and stays sharp
4. Sturdy handle with something to grip

I have been using a 3.5" blade. Not sure if that is correct but it works for me. Can anyone give me any suggestions? i am ready to pick one up atthe local gander, cabela'sor online.
Old 10-15-2008, 01:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Hunting Knife suggestions..

Buck folding hunter. 30+ years old and i still use it. Keeps a great edge.
Old 10-15-2008, 01:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

Gerber has about a dozen knives that would fit your requirements for under $60.

I have a nice folding one that has a nylon sheath and cost right around $30. I think it is a gator. It has skinned and quartered an elk, 2 deer, an antelope and close to a dozen pigs. I carry a little Smith's sharpener with it because I like to keep a knife verysharp. I don't know of a knife that will hold it's edge skinning and quartering an elk. I think I paid $10 for the sharpener and it fits into the knife's sheath.
Old 10-15-2008, 01:44 PM
Fork Horn

Semi,

I have a folding buck knife that I have had for nearly 30 years. Many years ago I broke the tip off digging a slug out of a tree and since then it sat in a drawer. This year I sent it back to Buck knives under their lifetime warranty. The blade was replaced, no questions asked, and the turn around was pretty quick.