Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Buck and Doe Scent. Really?

Old 09-30-2008, 09:26 AM
Spike

Default Buck and Doe Scent. Really?

Guys and gals,

I have been hunting for a brief 20 years now. I have been lucky enough to harvest 3 nice bucks. The 3 bucks were following the real deal doe in heat. I have used several different scent lures over the years without any success.I mean, I have never even had a buck approachanyof the scents I have put out.Not one. I knowhow to put them out andavoid humancontamination. I guess I am just looking for a new product or fresh ideas to see if I can add this to my arsenal.Likemost Hunters I am open to anything that can help. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to readingyour replys.

Thanks TAMBO.
Old 09-30-2008, 09:47 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Buck and Doe Scent. Really?

Last December I sat behind a small cedar tree on a stool, bow at the ready, waiting to intercept deer moving across my property on their way to a cedar covered bedding area on the neighboring property. I was wearing ASAT camo and sprayed with Deer Dander. Suddenly, I heard foot steps followed by a sniffing sound directly behind me, and as I turned my head to look a young buck bolted back into the cedars over 30 yards away. The wind was blowing toward him at the time, so I have little doubt that it was the Deer Dander that got his attention. He wasn't on alert, and apparently didn't think I was anything threatening until I moved.
Old 09-30-2008, 06:08 PM
Fork Horn

buckbomb is the one thing i use... it works great.
Old 09-30-2008, 06:15 PM
Boone & Crockett

Don't know about the scents, I don't think they arethat effective except under the right circumstances, but 3 deer in 20 years? You are a very patient hunter.
Old 09-30-2008, 06:17 PM
Nontypical Buck