Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Stand location

Old 07-15-2008, 07:00 AM
Spike

Default Stand location

This is my first year hunting whitetails and I need some advice on stand location. I'm going to attach a picture of a possible hunting location. The red lines indicate game trail with heavy sign. The blue line is my entrance route. The yellow line represents the prevailing wind, out of the north/east blowing south/south west. The blue circle is an active watering hole. I don't know if it's active in the winter time or not. This is public land, very active and the whitetails are extremely hard to see. It's also very dense forest/swamp, with few open areas.

Where would you setup your tree stand?

Old 07-15-2008, 07:09 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Stand location

Just based on wind direction and the trails you have mapped, I would suggest southwest of the water hole, just to the south of where all the trails intersect. Also, where the two trails come together in the northeast portion of the map, set up to the south of the intersection to keep the wind in your favor. A topo map would also help a ton, asyou would be better able to see geographical pinch points. Good Luck!
Old 07-15-2008, 07:20 AM
Spike

Thanks for the tips roller! It pretty much all flat land, not much in the way of elevation variance, so practically no contour lines. You can see the swamp/river area to the north of the trails; one trail cuts straight across. That's the only real funnel I can see.
Old 07-15-2008, 08:53 AM
Nontypical Buck