Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Deerstand question

Old 04-11-2008, 04:52 AM

Default Deerstand question

hey Board,

I'm a new hunter, this past season I killed my first deer. I have an opportunity of joining a hunting club out of state and would like to put up a deer stand. I would like to purchase or build a box stand (Maybe large enough for myself and wife) Any recommendations? I am not very experienced with building but I'm willing to try. I have hunted out of stands that are anywhere between 6-12ft off the ground. The area is heavily wooded timber (Pine, Oak) if that helps.

Thanks Again,

Mignolafan
Old 04-11-2008, 06:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Deerstand question

Check out a post in this section...probaly a few pages ago that is entitled "Homemade stands". There were some great pictures and ideas in that thread.
Old 04-11-2008, 06:31 PM

ive always seen stands 12-15 or more feet, not 6-10, so you might want to consider that in your plans. in my climber ill go up pretty danghigh as long as i feel comfortable for scent control
Old 04-11-2008, 07:19 PM
Fork Horn

Usually a box stand, or " SHOOTING HOUSE " is mean to be however high it needs to be for good view and no higher. some sit on the ground, some a foot up, for that little bit of extra viewing distance, if you need to see far off and cant front the ground i suggest you build it higher, too high is overkill in most places i would say though, if you want to get high get a climber ...
Old 04-12-2008, 02:00 PM
Giant Nontypical

What about a 2 man ladder stand? Just use some camo material/burlap around the front for concealment.
Old 04-12-2008, 06:50 PM
Nontypical Buck