Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 muzzleloader......help its new to me!!! >

muzzleloader......help its new to me!!!

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

muzzleloader......help its new to me!!!

Old 01-11-2008, 10:14 PM

Default muzzleloader......help its new to me!!!

hi, i got my first muzzleloader about a week ago, i bought a used one being how im a beginner at this, figure it would be good enough fora starter,but now im wondering if its good enough for hunting, its a knight on the barrel it says knight -american knight, its 50 cal. the barrel seems to be in good shape and all in all its in pretty good shape,,,will it drop a deer???? also i went out and got a scope for it, i bought a tasco
3-9X40mm bucksight scope it has 3" of eye relief. is that enough eye relief? any info would be helpful. thanks
Old 01-11-2008, 11:58 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: muzzleloader......help its new to me!!!

It'll handle a deer and even larger if you desire and work up the loads. I haveharvested whitetails, mule deer, black bear and moose with my 50 cal ML's. The range is not upto a CF, being 100 to 150is whatmost feel confident with, however those who possess the skill and will to put forth the effort can extend the range a little.

My knight disc likes to shoot Pyrodex RS or P powder(I use loose powder and never tried the pellets in it so can't comment in that regard) - 80-100gr volume. My bulletschoices were:250gr Barnes MZ Expanders, 250gr Hornady XTP's and Nolser 300gr parts - all use the black MMP short sabot. I still own the knight and shoot it though I have added others over the yearsthat seethe hunting action. It's too good of rifle to let go for what it'll fetch so it remains in my cabinet and probably always will have a slot!