Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Deer Rifles

Old 12-10-2007, 07:02 PM

Default Deer Rifles

I have a question. I am relatively new to deer hunting. Ive done alot of quail, phesant hunting but only been deer hunting for 2 seasons. Last year I got in the season late and dropped a 6pointer at about 80 yards with my Marlin 30-30. This year I dropped one at about 80 yards also. I also dropped one with my friends 7 mag at abour 95yards. It pretty much folded the deer in half and blew out its neck, it was looking away, in through the lungs and somehow up and out?
My question is this. Im wanting more knockdown and distance than my 30-30 has so I have been considering the 30-06 vs the 7mm. I hunt about 250 acres and honestly the longest shot I will make will be 150 yards or so. No more than 200 for sure. So just curious what your preferance is and why. I like the 30-06 for its durability, and AFFORDABILITY. I know the .06 is a bigger heavier round and easily available. Rounds are much cheaper than the 7mm. Also I have found a very nice Remmington 30-06 semi auto for $250. Also prefernce in Semi vs Bolt action?
Old 12-10-2007, 07:05 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Deer Rifles

For the shots you are talkinga auto, slide, bolt, single, etc will do the trick!

Any standard rifle from 257 roberts to 35 whelen will do the trick. the 30-06 is a great deer round. I carried one myself this year for the first time.
Old 12-10-2007, 07:13 PM
Fork Horn

If you are going to be seriously hunting deer I would stick to a bolt action. chances are that you'll eventually want to hunt bigger game so stick with what's reliable, and most accurate.