Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

big buck problem

Old 06-07-2007, 05:14 PM

Default big buck problem

i hunt with my grandpa andi use a 308 semi automatic to deer hunt with
i always seem to get nervous when i see a big buck any suggestions
i am 13

Old 06-07-2007, 05:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: big buck problem

Time in the woods willhelp you control the shakes, but if you truly like to hunt whitetailsthey will never go away. You will learn to appreciate the thing known as BUCK FEVER!!
Old 06-07-2007, 07:13 PM

I have been hunting for 20 years and I still get nervous even when I see a Doe. The only way I learned to control the shake was to take deep breaths and take your time and a shooting rail. I want gun hunt out of stand that doesn't have a shooting rail.
Old 06-07-2007, 07:17 PM

It'll probably stay that way. I almost had an asthma attack after I shot my last buck just it happened so fast.
Old 06-07-2007, 08:16 PM

Too many beginners try to hold out for big bucks. I was taught shoot the first 20 or so deer you can. Get the experience/proficiency. Then target the BIG BOYS. Paper targets are easy. When the targets breathe, it gets a whole lot tougher.
Old 06-07-2007, 08:44 PM

I didn't kill my first big buck till i was 26 yrs old but never had the oppirtunity to until then
Old 06-07-2007, 09:15 PM

If I did'nt get that buck fever feeling I would'nt hunt.I always say to myself after I've seen the rack and determined that it is a shooter.Dont look at the antlers.It dos'nt really matter though because at that point im all jacked up.
Old 06-07-2007, 09:16 PM

If I did'nt get that buck fever feeling I would'nt hunt.I always say to myself after I've seen the rack and determined that it is a shooter.Dont look at the antlers.It dos'nt really matter though because at that point im all jacked up.
Old 06-07-2007, 09:18 PM