Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Simple Question

Old 05-01-2007, 07:27 AM
Spike

Default Simple Question

Ok, This may seem like a stupid question to some people but I can not find the information elsewhere. I am fairly new to deer hunting (This will be my first season).

When counting points on a bucks rack, do you count the main beam as a point? Like if it is a six point it would be the two main beams and two points coming off of each main beam or do you only count the points coming off of the main beam? I have been trying to find this out but I can't find it anywhere. Thanks in advance for all of the answers to this nooby little question.

Also, what is the minimum length that a point can be? Or is there a minimum?
Old 05-01-2007, 07:31 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Simple Question

Yes the main beam is counted as a point.
Old 05-01-2007, 07:32 AM
Nontypical Buck

We are all here to learn and help. Yes, you count the main beam plus any points coming off the main beam.
Old 05-01-2007, 07:33 AM
Spike

Thankyou, I appreciate the quick response.

I have been a waterfowl hunter all my life and finally decided to step up to the plate and hunt whitetail. I am joining a lease this year. Hopefully I can put this newly learned information to use this season!
Old 05-01-2007, 07:35 AM
Nontypical Buck

Good Luck This Year! Hang around there is a lot of good information onall the differentforums here.
Old 05-01-2007, 07:36 AM
Giant Nontypical

Here is an article right here from our very own HNI. You'll find it helpful. Visit the main deer info page - there's lots of useful info.

http://www.huntingnet.com/staticpages/staticpage_detail.aspx?id=9
Old 05-01-2007, 07:42 AM
Spike