Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

HELP!!!!

Old 04-23-2007, 04:50 PM

Default HELP!!!!

I have ordered a cva buckhorn 209 magnum blackpowder rifle, and I want to put a scope on it. I have a scope and all I need is mounts. But that aint my problem. My dad said that all scopes will not work on a muzzleloader. Can you all help me? Thanks
Old 04-23-2007, 08:05 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: HELP!!!!

Your best bet is to put a scope on made for either a muzzleloader or shotgun. I'm no expert but I don't think a rifle scope will stand up to the recoil. Maybe someone else with more experience will chime in. I have scopes on my shotgun and muzzleloader but they are made for them.
Old 04-23-2007, 08:12 PM
Nontypical Buck

DO NOT USE A SIMMONS ANYTHING other than that I got nothing. Im gonna try out a burris fullfield 2 next season so Ill see how that works out. If you decide on a cheap scope expect cheap results as those mls pack one heck of a punchthat not all scopes can handle
Old 04-24-2007, 06:14 AM
Giant Nontypical

Go with a red dot/green dot, you cant go wrong.
Old 04-24-2007, 04:15 PM
Nontypical Buck

I don't think you need a "special scope" for blackpowder, although I agree that you should not put a cheap or
rimfire scope on one. I think that scopes for shotguns and muzzleloaders
are not necessarily designed to handle
more shock, but instead have different parallaxes (75yds.), different magnifications (2x7), and different reticles.

Some of it seems like marketing to me, and I don't think you can go wrong with a basic 2X7 or 3x9 from one of
the better brands like Nikon, Leupold, Burris, Weaver, etc.

I put a basic Nikon Pro-Staff 3x9x40 ($150) on my ML and I haven't had any problems.

Old 04-24-2007, 07:13 PM
Giant Nontypical

ORIGINAL: BuckRogers