Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 trailing deer after they are shot >

trailing deer after they are shot

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

trailing deer after they are shot

Old 12-01-2006, 03:38 PM
Spike

Default trailing deer after they are shot

i watch hunting shows a bit and reading the forums here on the hunting shows deer always run and have to be trailed on the some of the forums i have read people are trailing deer for 200 300 yards some have said 1/2 mile to a mile i have been deer hunting for 13 years i have only had to trail 2 deer over 50 yards from were it was hit all but those two only went 5 to 10 yards at the most i dont shoot a huge belted mag or anything i use a ruger 243 alot of them drop right where i hit them im not a expert marksman but im a good shot so i was just woundering if having them run that far is normal and i have been luck or what
Old 12-01-2006, 03:51 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: trailing deer after they are shot

The farthest I have ever had to track a deer was 75 yards, and that was with a shotgun. All my bow kills have either dropped or only gone 20 yards or less. Most deer only go that far because they get pushed, they are not allowed enough time to stop and bed down, and alot of people don't practice "When in doubt, back out."
Old 12-01-2006, 05:18 PM
Fork Horn

Get real I have seen deer with there heart blown apart still run over a hundred yards these deer have not been pushed that is where they finally just fall. It is the adrenelin. I have also seen deer that drop instantly. But every situation is not the same.
Old 12-01-2006, 05:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

Personally I think they do it for video length. They got to put something on there to make the video worthwhile buying or watching. Got to have the suspense I guess.
Old 12-01-2006, 05:37 PM
Fork Horn