Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What to spend my money on?

Old 11-16-2006, 03:38 PM

Default What to spend my money on?

Well I've asked around and narrowed my choices down to 2for a gun to use in the Southern Tier of NY. (Can't use a centerfire in this region)A slug gun or a TC Omega. What would you use? The extended blackpowder season is not a big deal to me, butease of use, and acccuracy are. I know that the muzzleloader is more accurate, butI like the repeat shots available with the slug gun. I just wish I had money for both, that way I would have the best of both worlds. BTW, I've never used a ML before, but use rifles and shoyguns regularly. I also have 4 boxes of remington buckhammers sitting on the shelf. (From a previous attempt of sighting an Ithacaslug barrel for my Benelli Nova, didn't work out because the cantilever rail was mounted on the barrel crooked[:@])
Old 11-16-2006, 04:58 PM

Default RE: What to spend my money on?

id say slug gun first but thats just my opinion. o ya if youre lookin for one check out an 870, i love mine.
Old 11-16-2006, 08:37 PM

I would say get the muzzleloader.I love the challenge and the long season. What's wrong with a little challenge? The gun season is crazy anyways.
Old 11-16-2006, 08:50 PM
Fork Horn

Being from the Southern Tier also,I had the same problem,until I put my shotgun away and got a muzzleloader.It's more accurate and offer less recoil than some shotguns.My area switched over to rifle,but I still carry the ml afield most of the season.
Old 11-16-2006, 09:02 PM
Fork Horn

like shafer said....an 870 combo..get the fully rifled barrel with it...you cant beat it
Old 11-16-2006, 09:49 PM
Giant Nontypical

ML - accurate, better range, less recoil and why not take advantage of the extended season while still achieving your primary goal.