Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Deer sign everywhere - where do I start? >

Deer sign everywhere - where do I start?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Deer sign everywhere - where do I start?

Old 11-13-2002, 05:57 PM

Default Deer sign everywhere - where do I start?

Oops I didn't mean to post twice.... call me a rookie.

Edited by - epic on 11/13/2002 19:00:17
Old 11-14-2002, 07:46 AM

Default RE: Deer sign everywhere - where do I start?

Well, it looks like my original post got deleted. It was a long one too... I wish I'd saved it somewhere.

The gist of the post was this:

I am new to deer hunting. I am also new to my area. Moved in October 1, and have been scouting heavily since then. I am on a 15 acre horse farm with roughly 250 huntable acres adjacent to me. My problem is that there are deer tracks literally everywhere. At the same time though, I have yet to see any rubs or scrapes, and I have not seen any deer during the day. I have seen them in the pastures at night however. The 250 acres is a bowl between two ridges with a beaver swamp at the bottom, and my house being at the top. It is mostly pine forest, but there are also old pastures in the woods and some recent (4-5 yr.) clearcuts. Then there is the swamp itself with grass that is head high and a small alder forest near the largest beaver dam. I think this may be where the deer are during the day as it is by far the least accesible place on the property. I was thinking of placing a stand near the alders, but the only trees near there are dead or dying hemlocks, so that's not really an option.

I figure the deer need four things:

Water - there are streams running in three directions to the swamp as well as ponds, so there is no pressure here, and I don't think this can help me.