Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

what's the best deer call?

Old 09-02-2006, 11:16 PM
Fork Horn

Default what's the best deer call?

Just wondering what deer calls are your favorite? hopefully one that is simple to use, since I'm a beginner...
Old 09-02-2006, 11:36 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: what's the best deer call?

I just use an old Knight&hale. I usually only use it to stop deer that are running, not to call them in. It does the trick though and sounds good.
Old 09-03-2006, 09:00 PM

My grandpa told me that best deer call is no deer call, he didnt belive in them. I wont be using them!
Old 09-04-2006, 12:17 AM
Giant Nontypical

HS Truetalker is an all in one, easy to use anddecent tone. Deer calling does not work at all times but it can be a very productive tool at minimal expense to the hunter. I don't believe in blind calling to lure deer, unless rattling is involved but rather as visual aid, meaning a moving animal or a deer outside of range. It may or may not work but it is non threating as it is a natural sound.Deer are curious and social by nature, so making a call is not a bad thing as long as your prepared for the results...meaning the deer may come investigate or another deer you don't see may show up on the scene. Over calling is a common mistake by hunters, so don't blow on it like a trumphet all morning or day long expecting the forest to come running.

PersonallyI use a grunt onlycall in the woods(widowmaker -older call), mainly with contact or social grunts (the ones you hear on every video). However during or near the rut I will make tending and huffing grunts while rattling as well with the same grunt call. Ihave also bleated, fawn bawled, etc via my voicebox.
Old 09-04-2006, 06:02 AM

i like the modern calls, hands free.
Old 09-04-2006, 05:23 PM
Fork Horn