Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

A few questions from new guy

Old 11-04-2002, 01:57 PM

Default A few questions from new guy

Have read your posts and you guys seem like a great group. I am new to hunting. I will be shotgun hunting deer in Carroll county Illinois the weekends before and after thanksgiving. Obviously I have a lot of questions and a lot to learn. Unfortunately I don't have anyone exprienced at deer hunting to guide me.

Can someone recommend a good video on deer hunting for beginners? It seems like there are a lot of them out there. I want something that will be instructional not just scenes of deer kills.

Is a tree stand a necessity? I understand that it improves my chances but if I hunt from the ground, do I stand a chance or am I wasting my time?

Finally, is it possible to have a deer tested for CWD privately?

Thanks in advance for your help. Keep up the good work.

Robert
Old 11-04-2002, 05:47 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: A few questions from new guy

welcome aboard!...the only question i can asnwer is the treestand one...its not a nessisity...it helps keep your scent from the deer and out of their eye level so you can get away with some moving sometimes...i hunt from the ground and see many deer..just keep your clothes as scent free as possible and you should be ok..just dont move alot and be quiet...you dont need all the fancy scent stuff just let it sit out side for a few days to cath the breeze out of rain and such of course...thats about all i do..and if they ever need washed wash in plain water...

Old 11-04-2002, 11:31 PM

Thanks for the detailed info. Every little bit helps.
Old 11-05-2002, 06:34 AM