HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Preparing for next year (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/126630-preparing-next-year.html)

buckhunter14 12-28-2005 08:35 AM

Preparing for next year

In Michgan, the deer "hunting" season is essentialy over. You can still harvest a doe but I have taken enough. I have replaced my treestands according to my results of this years hunting. I have began sitting in these new stand and video taping for next year. This is what I have been doing for the past 3 years. Is it worth it. When do you guys begin scouting for your next season? I like to find areas late in the season where bucks go for protection. I found a spot this year I have never set foot in and hunted outside it about 40 yards. Well, sure enough the pressure of other hunters pushed a dandy into the thickarea.

So I suppose my question to help with my scouting are:
[ul][*]When do you begin scouting?[*]Where are your favorite areas to scout?[*]Do you just observe the deer or do you try hunting scenarios on them?[*]Do you give the deer any pressure during the off season?[*]Do you place your cameras up yet to see deer activity or wait until the antlers drop and begin to re-grow?[/ul]
Anyway, thanks again and I look forward to scouting!

hillbilly17 12-28-2005 08:46 AM

RE: Preparing for next year

[*]When do you begin scouting? In late febuary [*]Where are your favorite areas to scout? Fence lines, creeks and woods[*]Do you just observe the deer or do you try hunting scenarios on them? I look for sheds, observe their late season behavior and look for bedding areas.
[*]Do you give the deer any pressure during the off season? I try not to , but TN is so populated with deer it is impossible to NOT stir up some of the animals.