HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Problems (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/115063-problems.html)

Casper776 10-01-2005 01:43 PM

Problems

Heya folks!!

Hope all is going well for everyone. I am running into a bit of a problem here. I am new to hunting and have a strong desire to learn, the right way. But I really don't have any resources to tap into for help or guidance. I called the local gun club here in my area and the "lady" (lightly used term for her)that answered the phone was rude and very short with me about any questions I had. She said that I would have to join the club in order to be able to allowed there, which limits my options of talking to seasoned hunters. I made some small talk with a local gunsmith and told him of my plight and he said that without anyone to take me and show me the ropes it would be hard, not impossible but hard. I am planning on posting on the regional board for the area I am from and hopefully I will get lucky and find someone willing to take a newbie uder his/her wing. Alot of the stuff I am sure I could learnon my ownbut certain aspects a "teacher" would be beneficial. Especially when it comes to field dressing, certain things to look for i.e. deer rubbings, and marks etc. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

TomFromTheShade 10-01-2005 02:56 PM

RE: Problems

Casper...where are you from?

Casper776 10-01-2005 05:02 PM

sorry fogot to put that in I am in cen/nor cal about an hour south of sacramento

Chuck7 10-01-2005 05:29 PM

Casper,
These fellows will be more thank happy to answer your questions and you can possibly hook up with another hunter in your area. Most of these fellows are very seasoned hunters. Ask any questions. None are too silly. We all on here love talking about hunting.
God bless,
Chuck

PKnTX 10-02-2005 04:21 PM

Casper776,