Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

where's the buck(s)

Old 09-24-2005, 10:25 PM
Fork Horn

Default where's the buck(s)

So this is my first year "Hunting". i'm an expierenced shooter , just never hunted anything , i've been planning this for a few years but due to time restraints i never got the chance , now this year i moved to a new location in what we call "the sticks" and i have about 30 acres of private hunting land here.

i've seen many deer , i see them either in the morning or at night fall...either way , there's about 3 does and about4 fawns , but i have yet to discover a buck in the area. i know he's here as my wife works a the gas station that's about 100 yards from my house she one night about 6 weeks ago took the trash out to the container wich is behind the store in a caged area where it's obviously dark, she heard some snorting and some stomping looked up and there was a "deer with horns" as she called it.

so i know he's here...but have no idea on the size of him.

i know where the does and fawn trails are as they have been the same for the past 3 months...the enter the area at a spot and go back in teh woods at the same spot sometimes they walk the opposite way , but it's always along the same path.

The Area from my house to the tree stand is about 800 yards and from my house to the old building is about 300-400 yards.

would the buck travel along the doe path or maybe along the tree line. ?
Old 09-24-2005, 10:59 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: where's the buck(s)