Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Self-Made Deer Trails

Old 08-31-2005, 02:58 PM
Typical Buck

Default Self-Made Deer Trails

I was wondering if this is normal for anyone else. I have been hunting the same private land for the past 9 years. It is a mix of timber and pasture with a pond and an occasional small field. The timber borders the pasture, which is really thick pasture, like usually 3-5 feet high in alot of areas. Well anyways...a few years back, me and my father used a week mower down there to clean up the areas and to cut a path from the entrance of the land, to our ladder stands. This was probably about 6 years ago now, and from us walking the path to the stands, and occasionally driving out to the stands for whatever reason during the off-season, there is still a path. What I find interesting is that every season since that year we cut the path, including the same year we cut it, probably only 2 months later, that is the most heavily used deer trail that i see. It seems the deer use that trail more than any other one, even during hunting season and my brother, my father, and I all walk down that same path to our stands. I have only used a scent killer, or any scent at all last year, but the previous year it never seemed to bother them at all.....sorry about the long post, but this just seemed to be strange to me, after reading about how alot of people say that you should use trail drags, the best cover scents, rubber boots, etc....
Old 08-31-2005, 03:11 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Self-Made Deer Trails

Yep deer get lazy to just like us. Last year I was hunting a field with high weeds and never could see the deer . I cut paths thru the field and right up to the woods, The deer used that cleared trail and i GOT ONE within a week
Old 08-31-2005, 03:34 PM
Dominant Buck