Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Deer age

Old 08-03-2005, 11:08 AM

Default Deer age

This picture was taken on a trail camera.I am not that good at determining the age of a deer.He looks young to me.Are there any experts out there that can tell how old he is.Thanks

Old 08-03-2005, 11:14 AM

Default RE: Deer age

I'm no expert but just guessing 3 or 4 yrs old.
Old 08-03-2005, 11:20 AM
Giant Nontypical

I don't know where the picture was taken (state) but this appears to be a young deer with good genetics. Not really a good picture to judge him from as you can't see where the top of his back stops.

I would say 2, maybe....................3.

He's gonna have a nice rack come hunting season.
Old 08-03-2005, 12:07 PM

Here is another picture.They were taken in northwest Missouri.

Old 08-03-2005, 12:18 PM

They certainly aren't great pics and aren't enough evidence to make a "kill it or leave it" decision with. But based on what I saw from the first pic I thought 3.5 years, after seeing the 2nd pic I am more convinced he is 3.5. I doubt he is older than that, but at the MOST he could be 4.5 but I really doubt that. He has the flatter quarters, swayed back and slightly protruding belly of a deer that is older than 2.5. But his face, neck and pedicles say he isn't fully mature.

Looks like a good one in the makin, watch him 2 more years and he will SCARE YOU!!!
RA
Old 08-03-2005, 03:44 PM
Super Moderator

Looks like a good one in the makin, watch him 2 more years and he will SCARE YOU!!!
RA
He looks like he could be a real trophy some day.
That is if some one don't get him before he can.

I hope you can wait and get him when he is really big.

Good Luck
Old 08-03-2005, 04:30 PM
Boone & Crockett

Alot of aging a deer like your asking helps if we know the state. I seen2 year olds in Iowa look better then 5 year olds in Pa.