Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Salt Block

Old 05-18-2005, 02:08 PM

Default Salt Block

I need to know would i put the salt block in the same place or should i put in the different lotation ,
it's wallow and big hole ,deer are coming at it ,i need to put another one in ,it 's gone from last year ,so what is the best way to do it ?

Thanks
OU812
Old 05-18-2005, 02:25 PM

Default RE: Salt Block

I've been putting my salt block at the same place for 8 years now. I put one of those great big salt blocks you get at a farmer's coop. They last for about 2 years. And they're much cheaper than the "specialty" deer salt... (I use the red colored salt block)

During the winter, the deer are yarding quite a distance from my spot and no tracks are visible in the snow in the general area where I hunt, EXCEPT for several tracks leading right to my salt block and turning back from where they came from once they got their salt. They travel a great distance just to lick the block, regularly. I guess my point is, once they know they have a source of salt in a particular area, they can count on it beeing there all the time, keeping them coming over and over, year round. Which is why you want to put a salt block in the first place.
Old 05-18-2005, 02:29 PM

Thanks for the info
now i'm planning to put in same place .
Old 05-18-2005, 02:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

i think i'm going to put a couple out up in kentucky. we had a few out a few years back but haven't replaced them.
Old 05-18-2005, 02:46 PM
Nontypical Buck

If you are just gonna use one I would put it back in the same spot.
Old 05-18-2005, 04:57 PM