Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
 What's Happened to the Ducks? >

What's Happened to the Ducks?

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

What's Happened to the Ducks?

Old 02-06-2005, 10:24 PM
Fork Horn

Default What's Happened to the Ducks?

Guys, I have been hunting in South Louisiana for 24 years. I have 850 acres that on average is well above average for anywhere in the country. There are 4 of us on the lease and we have averaged 200 ducks annual harvest. That is, until last year. Last year there were "NO DUCKS". We made 12-15 hunts and did not see a duck flying. Normally, we see several in the bayous on the way out and fifty to one hundred on the pond when we arrive. There is natural feed there, some kind of tuber or radish that grows on the root system of several of the plants in the pond. When these tubers mature, it's like hunting over corn, they don't leave, just circle until you shoot a limit and leave them alone, then they're back to business eating this stuff up. It lasts two or three weeks mid December to mid January. I know the feed is still there because we can see it. They're not nocturnal feeding because the water is clear as a bell when we get into the pond. The problem is that there are no ducks down here anymore. Plenty on the coast, but not in the marsh 5 miles from the coast. 22 years of excellent duck hunting and then all of a sudden nothing. I have heard that some folks in Arkansas have been circulating large ponds to prevent freezing and feeding heavy on reserve santuaries, but can't find any viable information as to why the ducks are not here any more. I've never seen anything like this before. Never before. Could the flyway have changed? Are duck populations down that low? I don't know. I do know that we are all considering giving up the property after 24 years of hunting the same blinds year after year with really good succe