Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

dogless hunting

Old 10-12-2004, 10:12 AM

Default dogless hunting

I'm just getting started waterfowling, and am wondering about the relative ease/difficulty of hunting without a dog. Are there any special techniques? Limitations on where you can hunt, etc?
Old 10-12-2004, 11:32 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: dogless hunting

I have never hunted with a dog and have put the following restrictions on myself:

- NEVER EVER EVER try to shoot a double. When you hit a bird watch it all the way to the water/ground, then don't take your eyes off of it until you are 100% sure it is dead. If it isn't, shoot it again.

as for places to not hunt, I try to restrict my setup to where I can try and control where the ducks will land when shot, I try not to shoot them out over swamp grass or lots of weeds, or any other place that will make them hard to find. If they do get into such a place, get on them right away.

--Bob
Old 10-12-2004, 12:44 PM

Watch the heavy weeds as ducks can hide in on a putting green.

I always hunt over water and if not wadable, I carry a fishing pole with me. A large spoon is easy to catch the dead ducks with. I also caught two bass and a pickerel last Saturday trying to retrieve two wood ducks. Funny as heck.

Greg
Old 10-12-2004, 02:22 PM

I'm having trouble picturing exactly what you are doing with the fishing pole (and the large spoon?). I've heard of using a fishing pole before, but ....what is on the end of the line?
Old 10-12-2004, 08:33 PM

I take it you are not an angler or you would know that the spoon Gryan is talking about is a fishing lure. Fairly heavy with either one big hook or a treble hook on it. He's using it to cast past a dead duck and snag it for the retrieve. I myself have used a big topwater like a Zara Spook for the same thing. On ice that I don't want to send my dog on I will use a huge treble hook.