Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
 Is it worth calling without decoys? >

Is it worth calling without decoys?

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Is it worth calling without decoys?

Old 01-02-2004, 06:21 PM
Fork Horn

Default Is it worth calling without decoys?

I am new to duck hunting this season and can't afford to buy decoys, but have got to be good enough with a call. Can you call ducks in shooting range without decoys setup?
Old 01-02-2004, 08:40 PM

Default RE: Is it worth calling without decoys?

You might can get some ducks to do a fly by , but I doubt if you can get them into good gun range without some kind of decoys...But , if I were you , right now is the best time to buy decoys and hunting gear in general....Store like bass pro and academy are putting all their gear on sale...I read today where Academy is putting decoys on sale , will be around fifteen or so dollars a dozen....Althought I dont think flambeaus are the greatest decoy out there , they will do great for a beginning hunter who hasnt got alot to invest up front..I'm sure some of the old time hunters here can tell you how to make a decent rig with two liter coke bottles or bleach jugs...
Old 01-03-2004, 02:37 AM

Call even if you don't have dekes, they'll come in close enough for wing shooting.After you start dropping them, set the dead ones out as decoys, just prop the heads up, trust me, it works!
As for decoys, the Flambeau's are inexpensive AND work quite fine, I've been using mine for two seasons now and still look like new.
BTW, effective range with 12 gauge 3" mag #3 shot is around 40 yd.Using a feed chatter, they should come in even just to investigate, it worked for me many times.
Good luck and good shooting
Old 01-03-2004, 05:41 AM
Fork Horn