Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
11-87 or 935 For Waterfowl? >

11-87 or 935 For Waterfowl?

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

11-87 or 935 For Waterfowl?

Old 05-17-2018, 09:48 AM
Spike

Default 11-87 or 935 For Waterfowl?

I'm new to waterfowl hunting. I know most guys use a semi-auto but it seems that almost nobody uses a Remington 11-87 or a Mossberg 935. Is there some reason why these two guns don't seem to be used much for waterfowl? I'm considering buying one or the other so any advice would be appreciated, thanks.
Old 05-19-2018, 02:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

Out of the two I would opt for the 935.....Remington is having many issues with business, which is hurting QC
Old 05-21-2018, 06:04 AM
Nontypical Buck

Most of the fellows that I hunt waterfowl with use Benelli SBE II shotguns. These are very good shotguns but sometimes it seems a status thing to carry a $2,000 SBE. It has nothing to do with the cost of the shotgun for me but I am one of the fellows that still uses a pump for most of my shooting from a boat or out in the muck of a marsh. I have never had a jam or misfire which is something I can not say for the fellows that use a semi-auto of any brand, including the Benelli. I kill as many birds that the other fellows and it is also a bit easier to pick up my empty hulls. I know fellows that have received a fine for not picking up their empties, and frankly I think they should get fined.

I use a Beretta O/U for clay birds and upland hunting and take an 11-87 for geese in a field and usually use one in the dove field. Maybe I am unlucky or just simply not very graceful but It is not unusual for me to have to take my shotgun apart and clean it after a day in the marsh and I appreciate the reliability of a pump when it has been covered in muck.