Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Pintails?

Old 01-29-2012, 04:36 PM
EFH
Typical Buck

Default Pintails?

Just finished a unusually good season here in central Alabama. We kept more mallards on our land this year than I have ever got to hunt. Yesterday we picked up our birds and was surprised to find a hen pintail (I've never seen one here before). Today we saw several groups of them! Now, I'm no pro caller by any means, and I've never had the chance to work pintails, but these guys didn't even seem to look as they flew by! Haha!! What I wanted to ask y'all is, are these birds harder to call or decoy in? We just blew a mallard hen with pin whistles mixed in.....have no idea if that was even right. Like I said before, never seen them here before, but would like to have a better knowledge of what to do if they ever give me another opportunity.

Any help is much appreciated!
Old 02-02-2012, 03:30 PM
EFH
Typical Buck

Anybody know how to call pintails?????
Old 02-02-2012, 05:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

You must have a Pintail call -- NOT a regular duck call

Old 02-03-2012, 06:49 AM
Spike

I just got back from hunting NE Arkansas the guides were calling with normal mallard calls as well as blowing their whistle. We only got one group to decoy out of several so my belief is that they are hard to decoy in but again I will admit I am a novice at this just relaying what I experienced.
Old 02-04-2012, 11:40 AM
EFH
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by Doc E
You must have a Pintail call -- NOT a regular duck call

I used a whistle! Do you mean a mallard hen dosent work, I need a pintail hen call?
Old 02-05-2012, 10:07 AM
Typical Buck